Ignacio Lopez, Ed.D will serve as the Interim President of Harold Washington College in Chicago beginning in September. Prior to his presidency at Harold Washington Dr. Lopez served as the Deputy Provost of Academic and Student Affairs at National Louis University.

He has been a higher education leader for over ten years serving in various capacities including associate faculty member, program chair, unit director, and assistant dean. In addition to his local leadership Dr. Lopez has served as an advisor and consultant to several school districts across the country, supporting strategic initiatives focused on family-school-community engagement, culturally responsive teaching and capacity building.

Dr. Lopez engages with higher education leaders, foundations, and community organizations to promote best practices within undergraduate programs to support the retention and success of students at the post-secondary level.

Dr. Lopez is committed to community and community engagement; He has served as a school board member for Illinois School District 73, was an appointed governing board member for the University Center of Lake County, and has served in advisory capacity to several community organizations around the Chicagoland area.

Dr.Lopez’s career in education includes positions as a high school English teacher, reading teacher and higher education administrator. Dr. Lopez holds a Doctor of Education degree in Educational Psychology and an MA in teaching, from National Louis University. He obtained his BA in English from the University of Illinois in Chicago. Dr. Lopez was born in San Juan, Puerto Rico and raised in Chicago’s Humboldt Park neighborhood. He is a graduate of the Chicago Public Schools.

Dr. Lopez is author and coauthor of books and online articles, including The Essential Classroom Management Checklist and The Empowerment Approach to Behavior Management. His latest book is titled: Keeping it Real and Relevant: Building Authentic Relationships in your Diverse Classrooms, which was released in August 2017.